simplelittlespaces

Keeping things simple in a not so simple world

Rolling around

Leave a comment

 Welcome to Simple Little Spaces!

I have had this idea rolling around in my head for a while and am excited to start this journey…though, I am not sure where this will lead me over time.  My vision for this blog is a place to share with you how things work for my family.
My family lives in North Jersey where my spouse is a professor and I am a stay-at-home mom to our two children, Luna, 5 and Lucien, 3 ½.  We are not native to Jersey, my husband is a transplant from Puerto Rico and I grew up in Western Michigan.
We live in a small two-bedroom apartment, but are lucky enough to have an arboretum in our backyard – which includes two lovely ponds – and a community garden.  Not to mention an entire college campus to explore.
I try my best to feed my family good food – focusing on lots of veggies and fruits, preferably organic.  But I am very aware of how costly this lifestyle is.  We have only one income and Northern Jersey is one of the most expensive places in the States to live.
I also LOVE to eat GOOD food.  I am as picky about taste as I am about health and reflect this in the food that I make.
But…I also do not have a lot of time to make food.  I have two children who keep me very busy.   I have three garden plots in our community garden that take some attention.  And during the summer we are outside most of the day.  You will see this reflected in the recipes and posts I share.  I try to keep things healthy, simple and tasty.
I also love to entertain…though it is often informal.  I am blessed to live in an apartment community that has a great porch life.  I hope to share that in the posts I here.
My goal is to share with you ways to live and eat healthy and sustainably, in ways that will keep money in your pocket, let you focus your time on the things you are passionate about and help the earth.
I hope that you join me as I start this adventure.  I am excited and I hope you are too!

Leave a Reply

