simplelittlespaces

Keeping things simple in a not so simple world

channeling spring, hoping for summer

Leave a comment

The east coast has been pummeled this year. Starting with hurricane Sandy, we have had constant cold, wet, rainy, snowy weather. I am done with old man winter. My five-year old is done with winter and my three and half-year is ITCHING to be outside.
So today I have at treat for you. A very special treat. A channeling spring treat; a hoping for summer treat. I got the idea for this recipe at Smitten Kitchen, http://smittenkitchen.com/.  But felt that the recipe needed more coconut, because you can never have too much coconut. My version also turned out nothing like bread, which is why I call it a pound cake. I served this at a board meeting for my kids preschool, with friends and my family inhaled one loaf all by themselves.

If you bake just one thing this week, bake this…

Coconut Pound Cake

2 eggs
1 can of coconut milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup coconut flour
1 1/2 cup flour (I used Pamela’s GF Baking Mix)
Pinch of salt
2 tablespoons baking powder
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut (I like Bob’s Red Mill because it is in smaller pieces.)
3/4 cup coconut oil (Costco sells this in bulk for cheap and organic!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix ingredients and place in a greased loaf pan.
Bake until an inserted utensil comes out clean. Approximately 45 minutes.

Note: Recently, I made mango bread using a banana bread recipe as a base. I think that this recipe could also be really good with small chunks of mango. I would add one finely chopped mango to this recipe.

Leave a Reply

