simplelittlespaces

Keeping things simple in a not so simple world

my favorite dressing recipe

Leave a comment

I am going to start this post by saying that we often eat vegan.  Certainly vegetarian, but often vegan.  For those of you who are not familiar with veganism, it is a lifestyle that completely avoids animal products.  From the food one eats, to the clothes they wear (no leather!), vegans are incredibly conscience of what they put and wear on their bodies.
I find something very admirable in this. I love the idea of eating so intentionally. I try to do this, but there is something very focused about being vegan.

We choose to eat vegan for a couple of reasons. I try really hard to get vegetables in my family. This is very important. I also do not agree with the modern meat industry. It is destructive to both our bodies and the environment. Also, it is very inhumane. It is also very expensive, not only to our immediate pocketbook, but in the long run, to our medical bills.

In my search for more vegetarian and vegan recipes I came across a lovely cookbook by Jack Bishop of America’s Test Kitchen. This book combines my love of vegetables with seasonal cooking. Something I am firm believer in. Most of the recipes are vegan, all are vegetarian. This favorite book is A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen.

Combing through this book, I came across a fall recipe, which could also be used in spring or summer, for a brown rice and chickpea salad. While it sounded good, with all of the added vegetables, what really caught my eye was the dressing. I’d like to share this tidbit with you. I always make my own dressing, but this is phenomenal. Truly superb.

Basil Curry Dressing
Based on the one in A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen

1/4 cup olive oil
3 tablespoons lemon or lime juice
1 teaspoon white vinegar
1 teaspoon honey
1-2 teaspoons curry powder (depending on how much you like curry)
1/4 cup minced fresh basil leaves
salt

Mix well, serve.

DSC01332 DSC01330 DSC01331

Leave a Reply

