simplelittlespaces

Keeping things simple in a not so simple world

happy mother’s day

Leave a comment

Like many mothers across the States, I enjoyed a very spoiled mother’s day.  It was quiet and calm…peaceful really.

After a simple, early lunch and a bit of a rest, we headed to a farm stand where I found some fresh-picked rhubarb.  I’ve mentioned before my love affair with rhubarb and my grandmother’s indulgence for this amazing ruby-red plant.
I bought two bunches and used one to bake a pie while our fabulous dinner was being made.

Today, I’d like to share three things with you.

First, I’d like to re-share my grandmother’s rhubarb pie recipe, here. This is the recipe I used yesterday, with these two modifications: I used 1/2 cup brown sugar-it really allowed the natural tartness of the rhubarb to shine through. I also used cardamom instead of nutmeg which made the pie have a much more refreshing taste to it than the warming taste of nutmeg.

Second, thanks to some very dear friends, we are now using the BEST store-bought dressing, Annie’s Shiitake and Sesame Dressing. I’m not sure I would have tried it without Hannah and Craig because I usually make my own, but this is quite phenomenal. I made an arugula salad with roasted beets and goat cheese (something I’ve done before, but Hannah and Craig reminded me of, that’s what friends are for, well one of many things… ). I certainly recommend trying this lovely dressing the next time you need an addition to your salad.

Lastly, I want to share with you an amazing rhubarb recipe tomorrow…so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

