simplelittlespaces

Keeping things simple in a not so simple world

getting kids to eat salad

Leave a comment

Okay, so from the title of this post, you may be thinking that I have some miracle trick to get my kids to eat salad.  Let me be clear, I do not.  Salad is a tough.

Our daughter has never really loved it.  She will eat it when that is all that is served, but she will do her utmost to get the smallest serving possible.

Our son, on the other, loves salad.  And the more bitter the greens the better.  Kale, arugula, dandelion, chicory, endive, collards….you name it, he’ll eat it.  Now, mushrooms-he picks them out of everything he hates them so much.

My grandmother had a salad she’d make as a kid that I used to inhale.  It had iceberg (they only “greens” most midwesterners eat), bananas and apples and a whole lot of sweet mayo dressing.  I used to eat that stuff…

I thought about that salad the other day and realized that it wasn’t the sweetness but the fruit that made me want to eat it. So, I have found that the best way to get your kids to eat salad is to add fruit.  Any fruit.
Last night at a BBQ with some friends, I took mixed greens, topped them with cut grapes and strawberries and served a white balsamic dressing on the side. The salad was eaten by all four kids (and four adults.)

Tonight’s salad, however, is a bit more on the gourmet side, but I think that the kids will like it none the less as it includes some of their favorite ingredients.

Lettuce and Watermelon

1 head butter lettuce (also called Boston, Bibb or Boston Bibb)
1 cup diced watermelon (small pieces)
1/4 cup crumbled goat cheese
vinaigrette of your choice (I mixed white wine vinegar and spanish olive oil.  I really liked the simplicity that allowed the watermelon and cheese to shine.)

Gently wash and tear your lettuce.
Toss the lettuce with watermelon and cheese.
Lightly sprinkle on vinaigrette. Serve.

The inspiration for this recipe was a meal that my spouse and I had several years ago. The orignal version was a champagne vinaigrette.

DSC01454

 

Leave a Reply

