simplelittlespaces

Keeping things simple in a not so simple world

soup to go

1 Comment

I’ve been having trouble figuring out what I want to do for lunch at work everyday. I am not overeager to spend money, but somehow we don’t have the fixings for a salad, or leftovers don’t sound good or they are eaten for breakfast and before you know it, I’m headed to Trader Joe’s to get something for work.

But this weekend I had a minor revelation.

I love a cup of soup during the winter…and my son has gotten sick of them – so we haven’t had as many, meaning we don’t have leftovers. Also, he is on an anti-squash kick…meaning we have three squash in the basement that would go to waste otherwise….

Now the true genius to the “Soup to go” is not the recipe, which you can find below and is very good, but rather the fact that I was smart enough to put the soup in small Ball jars. We kept a few in the fridge and froze a bunch more. I can simply pull them out and bring them with me, already “packaged.”
Can’t believe I didn’t think of this earlier!

Curried Triple Squash Soup
Note: You can use whatever type of squash you have on hand to make it sweeter or more savory as you like.

1 medium acorn squash, peeled and cut into large chunks
1 medium kabocha squash, peeled and cut into large chunks
1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cut into large chunks
4 cups vegetable broth
4-6 cups water
1 can coconut milk
2-3 tablespoons curry powder (depending on your taste)
3 teaspoons coriander powder
1 teaspoon cardamom powder
salt and pepper to taste

In a large stockpot, heat the broth and add the squash, covering with water until all the squash is covered.
Add coconut milk and spices.
Bring to a boil, simmer until squash is soft.
Remove from heat and let cool to room temperature.
Using a stick-blender or blender, puree the soup. Warning: if you puree with the soup while it is still hot, please be careful! I do not recommend it!

Fill as many small Ball jars or other small containers with soup. If freezing, leave enough room for expansion.

One thought on “soup to go

  1. That is a great option – I love soup in the fall and winter months! I have many recipes that you might enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

